Tuesday, 11 April 2017

Samhain - November Coming Fire Lp - 2015-BOOT

Samhain was formed in 1983 in Lodi, New Jersey, by vocalist Glenn Danzig and bassist Eerie Von following the breakup of The Misfits. The idea for Samhain, though, had allegedly been concieved a few years prior to that and a number of songs for the project were written while Danzig was still in the Misfits (the Misfits also recorded a few songs that Danzig had written with Samhain in mind). After tossing around several line-ups, the band was completed with Steve Zing, another Lodi native and friend of Von's, on drums. Danzig would also handle guitar duties, although former Minor Threat guitarist Lyle Preslar played with the band at their first show and recorded several songs with the band. Eschewing the straight up punk sound and horror movie image of the Misfits, Samhain played a more goth and atmospheric style of music with some punk and metal overtones and the lyrics focused more on the occult and real life violence. Following the recording, but prior to the release of their first album, 1984's "Initium", Pete Marshall (aka "Damien") joined the band as guitarist. Steve Zing quit the band in 1985, either tiring of touring or Danzig's complete control of the band (depending on who one was talking to at the time) and was replaced by former Reptile House (2) drummer London May. This line-up would record the band's second LP, "November-Coming-Fire", which would be the band's last release during their lifetime. The band caught the attention of Rick Rubin, who was initially interested in signing Danzig to a solo career. Up to that point, all of Samhain's music was being released through Danzig's Plan 9 record label, but he was finding that the operation was becoming to big to manage on his own. However, Danzig refused to ditch Eerie Von. Around the signing with Rubin, Damien left the group and was replaced with John Christ. The new band planned to record a 3rd LP, called "Samhain Grim", but when London May was fired from the band the project was scrapped and the band was reconstituted as Danzig. In 1990, Danzig and Von completed work on five tracks meant for "Samhain Grim" which ended up constituting the first half of "Final Descent" (the album was originally rounded out by a remixed version of the band's "Unholy Passion" EP).

Side A:
01 - Diabolos '88
02 - In My Grip
03 - Mother Of Mercy
04 - Birthright
05 - To Walk The Night
06 - Let The Day Begin

Side B:
07 - Halloween II
08 - Novembers Fire
09 - Kiss Of Steel
10 - Unbridled
11 - Human Pony Girl

password is mboc

Plan 9 / Caroline Records

1 comment:

Vanusian said...

class album! in my grip especially. thanks - yet another great share!